Beetcafe.com
rockford illinois entertainment guide
2008 Articles
11/19/2008
Absolutes
In a seeming sea of modern musical acts without talent and originality it’s refreshing to find a band that not only has created a powerful album (yeah, remember when it was all about the album and not the single?) but also stretches into musical territory that’s not simple to categorize. > More
10/25/2008
Sgt. Hetfield's Motorbreath Pub Band
What would happen if Metallica were a Beatles cover band? The result would be Beatallica and this album is proof of that. > More
10/24/2008
Life Is Not A Waiting Room
Senses Fail will be hitting Chubby Rain on November 7th and I got a chance to check out their new CD in anticipation of their appearance. The disc is my first taste of the band, and I have to say I’m game for additional helpings. > More
10/20/2008
Church Mouth
I have always enjoyed music that merges seemingly diverse styles to create a sound that is purely unique. Portugal The Man's Church Mouth CD is one such creation. > More
10/09/2008
Colabo
Treologic’s new CD is Colabo and it’s a bit of a change for them. The disc comes out on the 21st and as Treologic keyboardist Lance Loiselle says is has a harder sound and more traditional hip hop production than their three previous releases. > More
09/30/2008
Echoes
California Guitar Trio are definitely not strangers to the Rockford area. They’ve made numerous appearances here and with their next one due to happen on October 11th, it’s a great time to have a look at their latest CD. > More
09/15/2008
Mixtape Volume I - Straight Out Tha Dugout
If you’ve read some of the other hip hop articles I’ve done here at Beet Café, you’ll know that there is a thriving hip hop scene in the Rockford area that seems to be bigger than the size of the Forest City would warrant. > More
08/11/2008
The Complete Wooden Nickel Recordings
With the 21st Century version of Styx making their way to the stage for the On the Waterfront kick off concert, it seemed like a great idea to take a look at a CD from them. Well, to be more specific a 2 CD set that encompasses the reissue of four of their old LP’s. In keeping with truth in advertising claims, > More
08/11/2008
Long Long Road
"Long Long Road" is the latest EP release from Kelly Steward.  This EP is a collection of four songs that embrace a classic country sound. > More
06/05/2008
22 Blackbirds
This new release from Starlite Radio shows that this band is filled with talent.  22 Blackbirds weaves its way through a number of different musical styles that overlay the bands acoustic rock base. > More
06/04/2008
Torch
On June 28th Devon Allman’s Honey Tribe will be hitting the Rockford area as one of the support acts for Dicky Betts and Great Southern at Stars and Guitars Rib Fest. That seems as good a reason as any – and as good as this album is we don’t really need an excuse – to take a look at the group’s CD. > More
05/23/2008
All Eyes On You
What a difference a couple years can make! When I reviewed Andy Spitson’s first EP a couple years back at this very site, I found it to show promise. I also thought that it was lacking terms of variety with a monolithic texture. > More
05/11/2008
Kindred
There are those CD’s that find a permanent place in your CD player. After listening to “Kindred”, you may just feel as I do and not take this CD out of your player for quite some time.  > More
04/25/2008
You're All I Need
You’re All I Need is the third CD from Rockford based jazz saxophonist Harlan Jefferson. It’s a disc that is at times sheer brilliance. > More
04/17/2008
Are You Listening Now
Sarah Vonderhaar is going to be appearing at the Clearwater Theater in West Dundee at the end of the month.  While she's not quite a local artist, she is based out of Lake Zurich - so, she's not far from it. > More
03/14/2008
Rhythm and Bows
Very few Rockford natives have earned critical accolades from publications as far reaching and diverse as “The Christian Science Monitor,” “Billboard” and “USA Today.” Randy Sabien is one of those people. > More
02/29/2008
Leaders of the Meownarchy
This EP from local band JCVD should please fans of frantic hardcore based extreme music. These guys are the real deal. > More
02/29/2008
City Of Echoes
Pelican is a Chicago band that’s headlining a show at The House Café in Dekalb tonight. Fans of doomy, stoner rock should appreciate some of the music onthis disc, but I’d say that overall their sound isn’t exactly a tight fit into that musical style.  > More
Return
Artist/Galleries Feature Directory
Attraction Feature Directory
Beet Lit Feature Directory
Beet Press Feature Directory
Beet Stew Feature Directory
CD Reviews Directory
Dining/Clubs Feature Directory
Kids/Family Feature Directory
Music Feature Directory
On the Beet Podcast Directory
Specialty Shops Feature Directory
Sunday Blues Podcast Directory

Rockford Area Arts Council

Rockford Area Music Industry

Mendelssohn Performing Arts Center