Beetcafe.com
rockford illinois entertainment guide
2009 Articles
08/25/2009
Cosmic Hug
Fareed Haque will be appearing at On The Waterfront with Flat Earth Quartet. > More
08/25/2009
In Deference to A Broken Back
The Daredevil Christopher Wright are appearing in Dekalb tomorrow night and with that in mind I'd like to have a look (or listen) to their debut release. > More
07/10/2009
Stereo Rodeo
Whenever I heard the name “Rusted Root” for some reason I thought of the group as a reggae outfit. Well, that’s not what we’ve got here at all. Don’t get me wrong, I like reggae, but it can be limited – and this seems to be a band who recognize no boundaries or limitations.
> More
06/24/2009
Cycles
Escherbach are set to open up a show at Krptonite on Sunday with Clark Plays Guitar closing things out. It seems a great opportunity to have a look at their debut CD. Remember, you should be able to pick this one up when you see them Sunday night. > More
06/22/2009
Flat As A Pancake
Head East are going to be in the area (Logan’s in Freeport) this Saturday. They are no strangers to the Rockford area having played here a lot in the 1970’s and beyond. Still, their visits aren’t as frequent these days and seem a great opportunity to have a look back at one of their classic albums.  > More
06/08/2009
Clark Plays Guitar

"The guitar has ruled the sound of Rock music from the beginning…"   So begins the liner notes of the Clark Plays Guitar CD from Clark Colborn.  Colborn is the man behind or should we say in front of Clark Plays Guitar.  He's right.  The guitar has had an incredible impact upon rock.  > More

03/30/2009
Rochelle Rochelle
This EP from Picture Books is a very intriguing beast. > More
03/23/2009
Watch The Sky
Patty Larkin will be playing at the Mendelssohn PAC on the 27th of this month, so this seems like an excellent time to take a look at her latest Watch The Sky. > More
03/18/2009
You Are My Sunshine
Here’s the quick review – “I love this album!” Yes, I mean it. > More
03/17/2009
Hungry Bird
Clem Snide will be in Dekalb at the House Café on the 27th of this month. With that in mind I got a copy of the latest CD from this outfit and gave it a spin. > More
03/16/2009
Complete Greatest Hits
When I saw that Gordon Lightfoot was coming to the Coronado Performing Arts Center it took me back to my childhood. > More
03/08/2009
warm songs for cold shoulders
Cameron McGill & What Army are going to be in the area playing dates at both Kryptonite and Dekalb's House Café. > More
02/09/2009
Overkill Is Just Enough: The 12-String Bassist Collection
This new compilation will be of particular interest to Rockford residents because Rockfordian Ronald Johnson (currently in TraSH 80s) is one of the bassists featured here. > More
01/18/2009
Like We Used to Do: Live '96-'08
For those looking to get an introduction to and a healthy dosage of North Mississippi Allstars before their upcoming February 8th show at Otto’s I can’t imagine a better place to start than this set. > More
01/18/2009
Saints of Los Angeles
The Crüe return with Saints of Los Angeles and prove that they are taking no prisoners.

  > More

01/04/2009
Let It Shine
Matt Martino is coming to Kryptonite on Friday along with the Tom Fuller Band. That seems like a good reason to have a look at his CD. First off, literally “looking” at it, some of you might recognize Martino. > More
01/04/2009
Agony
Coming to Otto’s on January 29th, The Tossers might be from Chicago, but they’ve got not only a national, but an international following. > More
Return
Artist/Galleries Feature Directory
Attraction Feature Directory
Beet Lit Feature Directory
Beet Press Feature Directory
Beet Stew Feature Directory
CD Reviews Directory
Dining/Clubs Feature Directory
Kids/Family Feature Directory
Music Feature Directory
On the Beet Podcast Directory
Specialty Shops Feature Directory
Sunday Blues Podcast Directory

Mendelssohn Performing Arts Center

Rockford Area Arts Council

Rockford Area Music Industry
Wolfgang's Vault - Rare Police Memorabilia